Remembering You Mama ~ poetry by Suzy

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Remembering You, Mama

With this key, I unlock my heart
Where special memories are stored –
Remembering you, Mama
With sweet aromas of fresh-baked bread

As a favorite song cascades merrily
I dance in rhythm to its beat –
Remembering you, Mama
With golden hours of wondrous times shared

Seeing the keys of a piano dancing
I am often carried away in bliss –
Remembering you, Mama
With melodies of the vibrant Mosquito Waltz

Those funny stories of farm animals
I do so cherish them in glee –
Remembering you, mama
With roars and roars of healing laughter

There are times I wonder if I’m too independent, but
I do so thank you for teaching me to think –
Remembering you, Mama
With and for all the strength you instilled in me

During the month of May
I feel very adventurous and woodsy –
Remembering you, Mama
With every step we take hunting mushrooms

During the summer months
I can still see you surrounded by kids at the lake front –
Remembering you, Mama
With special pride as you taught others how to fillet fish

Your special enthusiasm at Christmas
I shall always tuck tenderly away –
Remembering you, Mama
With special joy in all Seasons of Love

At any time of the year or season
I recall your favorite talent of fixing huge meals –
Remembering you, mama
With delight as food decorates harvest tables

There are so many Thanksgivings
When I still see you labeling your Christmas gifts –
Remembering you, Mama
With awe in how you knew you’d be going Home

With every piece of poetry I write
I thank you for the beautiful farewell poem you left us –
Remembering you, Mama
With knowing you are a whisper away, waiting to meet us someday

© by Suzy

 

 

About thorns4roses

I am passionate about animals, poetry, music, photography & writing. It’s great to be alive & part of a world on the cusp of changing for the better. "Learn to Love with all your heart & accept the unlovable sides. For everyone can Love a rose but only a great heart can include the thorns. . . ." Unknown
This entry was posted in Love, Love & Nature, Mother's Day, Peace, Photography by Suzy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering You Mama ~ poetry by Suzy

  1. Linda D says:

    That will be beautiful thank you for sharing

  2. thorns4roses says:

    What a pleasant surprise to hear from you on here, Linda D.
    Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed the poem about my mother.

Leave a Reply

